About Me

My photo
I am a HOCKEY fan! * Gardening and Quilting are fun hobbies for me.

Saturday, August 20, 2011

Going to TEXAS, Timeline PART 10

The 1999 Stanley Cup - the Dallas Stars defeated the Buffalo Sabres to win their first Stanley Cup championship in their history. Brett Hull scored the controversial overtime goal in Game 6 for Dallas.

I have always loved the Zamboni and have always wanted to drive one.

One night in Topeka during intermission, T-shirts were being thrown from the ice to the crowd. One rolled up shirt hit the glass and fell into the path of the Zamboni. It chewed it up and it became wrapped around the auger.
No Zamboni - Bad Ice!
The bumper sticker on our van

June 10, 2000 - We move to Cedar Park Texas.

When moving to Cedar Park in 2000, we thought we would follow the Austin Ice Bats. In October of 1996, the Austin Ice had played in the WPHL for a capacity crowd of 7,559 in the arena that the fans called “the Bat Cave”. They played at the Travis County Expocenter, which is basically an old metal livestock arena. Having no locker rooms, the teams changed in a trailer outside the arena. The players described it as “having character”. By the time we arrived in Austin, attendance was much lower. We attended some games, but did not find it a good replacement for our Scarecrows.

We continued to follow NHL hockey on TV broadcasts.

My neice Jenny invited me and we enjoyed a Colorado Avalanche game at the Pepsi Center in Denver.

We attended some games in Dallas first at the Reunion Arena and then after the relocation in 2001, at the American Airlines center.

The 2000 Stanley Cup playoffs ended when the New Jersey Devils defeated the reigning champions the Dallas Stars in a six game series to win their second Stanley Cup title in their history.There were two years when the Stanley Cup was not awarded: 1919, because of a Spanish flu epidemic, and 2005, because of the NHL lockout.

The 2001 Stanley Cup playoffs, the championship of the National Hockey League (NHL), were played from April until June. The Colorado Avalanche defeated the New Jersey Devils to win its second Stanley Cup. Defenseman Ray Bourque, who had a career-long tenure in Boston without winning the championship, finally won the Stanley Cup with the Avalanche.

The 2002 Stanley Cup Final NHL championship series was contested by the Detroit Red Wings and the Carolina Hurricanes, making their first Stanley Cup Final appearance. Detroit defeated Carolina in five games to win their tenth Stanley Cup championship.

The 2003 Stanley Cup Final was a best-of-seven playoff series. The New Jersey Devils defeated the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim in seven games and were awarded the Stanley Cup.

The 2004 Stanley Cup Final ended with the Tampa Bay Lightning securing the Stanley Cup with a seven-game series win over the Calgary Flames.

The 2004–05 NHL lockout was a lockout that resulted in the cancellation of what would have been the 88th season of play of the National Hockey League (NHL). It was the first time a major professional sports league in North America canceled a complete season because of a labor dispute. The lockout lasted 44 weeks and 2 days starting September 16, 2004, the day after the collective bargaining agreement (CBA) between the NHL and the NHL Players Association (NHLPA) that resolved the 1994–95 lockout expired. The negotiating teams reached an agreement on July 13, 2005, and the lockout officially ended a week and 2 days later on July 22, after both the NHL owners and players ratified the CBA.

The 2006 Stanley Cup Final concluded with the Carolina Hurricanes winning the Stanley Cup, defeating the Edmonton Oilers in the final series four games to three.

The 2007 Stanley Cup Final ended when the Anaheim Ducks defeated the Ottawa Senators in five games and were awarded the Stanley Cup.

The 2008 Stanley Cup Finals ended with the Detroit Red Wings defeating the Pittsburgh Penguins four games to two to win their eleventh championship and their fourth in eleven seasons.

The 2009 Stanley Cup Finals ended with the Pittsburgh Penguins defeating the Detroit Red Wings four games to three to win the championship.

No comments:

Post a Comment